< Back

Australia imposes sanctions against Crimean authorities

Apr 1, 2023

Australia has imposed sanctions and entry bans on seven representatives of the Russian occupation administration of Crimea.


This is stated in the report of the Australian Associated Press.

The sanctions were imposed against Russians who hold regional leadership positions in the region's largest city, Sevastopol: the so-called "governor", "prime minister", former "chairman" and "deputy chairman" of the election commission, and members of the "legislative assembly".

The publication emphasizes that the international community does not recognize either the annexation or the occupation "authorities".

In total, Australia has imposed sanctions on more than 1,000 people since Russia's full-scale invasion of Ukraine in 2022.

Author - Serhii Kolomiets, 01/04/2023

Recent news