< Back

One EU country did not support further sanctions against Russia

Nov 15, 2022

All European Union member states, except one, agreed on the need for additional sanctions against Russia when discussing the issue at a meeting of foreign ministers on Monday.

This was stated by Slovak Foreign Minister Rastislav Kacher, writes Euractiv.

Eight sanctions packages have been completed today, while a ninth package is still at an early stage of development.


Kacher explained that the foreign ministers only studied the willingness of the member countries to promote sanctions and did not talk about their content.

Kacher did not say which country opposed the sanctions. But it is known that Hungary has been the most vocal opponent of sanctions in recent months, with Foreign Minister Péter Szijjártó arguing that the bloc should not push for another package of sanctions.

Author - Olena Madiak, 15/11/2022

Recent news