< Back

Spain, Ireland and Norway officially recognize Palestinian statehood

May 28, 2024

On May 28, Spain, Ireland, and Norway officially recognized the statehood of Palestine, as announced, despite Israel's harsh reaction.

This was reported by Reuters.

The three countries expressed hope that other EU countries would join their step.

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez said in a televised address that he sees this as “the only way to promote what everyone recognizes as the only possible solution for a peaceful future - the existence of a Palestinian state coexisting in peace and security with Israel.”


Spain has defined Palestine as a state that includes the West Bank and Gaza Strip, under the leadership of the National Palestinian Authority and with its capital in East Jerusalem.

Sanchez also said that Madrid would not recognize changes to Israel's borders after the 1967 war unless it was agreed upon by both sides.

“We wanted to recognize Palestine at the end of the peace process, but we decided to take this step together with Spain and Norway to keep the miracle of peace alive,” said Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris.

Earlier, the Irish Foreign Ministry announced that it would upgrade the status of its representative office in Ramallah in the West Bank to an embassy and appoint an ambassador.

Author - Olena Madiak, 28/05/2024

Recent news